Sometimes We All Need A Little Help

I don’t need help, I can do this on my own, I just have to work harder.

These have been my thought processes for a long time when it comes to getting help. I hate to seem weak. It doesn’t suit me.

This has been me my whole life, in pretty much every aspect of my life, but apparently people can change.

Today I went into therapy.

To be honest, I should have gone a long time ago.

I reached out to a doctor a few years ago, but ended up ignoring his advice on what help I should get and buried myself in sport. I stand by that decision I made because it worked for me, but after all of my injuries preventing me from accessing my exercise outlet I had to admit that this was too big for me to figure out on my own, and I got help.

Now although the session probably resembled something like this…

brain vomit
…I can’t tell you how much it helped. I feel lighter. She probably feels like she opened the Ark of the Covenant but it worked for me.

This is pretty indicative of my renewed approach to this year. This year I am getting help with depression that I fought with on my own up until now. I am getting help with my dyslexia and dyspraxia at university that I never bothered with before. I am going out to seminars and asking people I look up to in the industry for help with my business rather than struggle on doing my own thing.

I have given up on my macho idea of ‘strong’ and started reaching out and amazingly, everyone I have turned to has helped me out. Everyone.

Even if it is just in a little way, people want to help you. People want to give you a leg up in life but they won’t know you need it unless you ask!

If you were sinking in quicksand with people all around you, you wouldn’t just sit there and wait for the inevitable, you’d desperately try and get someone to throw you a rope and drag you out.

Would it take something as dramatic (and frankly insane) as that to get you to reach out for help? With depression, with weight loss, with any problems you have, how far will you go on your own? How deep into the quicksand will you go before you ask for help?

I left it far too long to reach out to people about my problems, but what can I say? I’m stubborn and I’m learning,

Go get help. Even if it’s just from a friend. A problem shared is a problem halved and all that.

As always, my door is always open.

Drop me an email or message if you need help, or need help getting help.

I’ll do my best!

George

George Studd Fitness Training
facebook.com/ george.studdpt
twitter.com/ GSFitTraining
George.studd@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

